We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Everything Breaks

by Heavy Seas

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 USD  or more


Oscillation 02:33
Fade Away 02:49
Caved In 03:37
Unwound 03:15
In Flux 03:23
Listen 02:36
Monuments 03:31


With Jesus Lizard rhythms over melodies that channel early Sonic Youths’ more aggressive atmospheres, Chicago-based Heavy Seas makes its debut this July. Everything Breaks releases July 16th and marks the first ten songs from singer/guitarist Jeff Dean (All Eyes West, Dead Ending, The Bomb), drummer Ronnie DiCola (All Eyes West, The Arrivals) and bassist Katie Karpowicz (Airstream Futures).

Everything Breaks was recorded with J. Robbins (Jawbox, Government Issue) at Robbins’ Magpie Cage Recording Studio in Baltimore. Robbins and co-producer Rodrigo Palma (Saves The Day) channeled the raw talent and energy of a newly formed band into a release that’s as controlled as it is catchy.

“The music and the energy in all of Jeff Dean’s bands has always been great, but there’s something about the chemistry between the players in Heavy Seas that makes it extra-special,” Robbins shares. “Katie’s bass melodies, Ronnie’s incredible drumming pushing everything forward, and last but not least the fact that, after so many years as a guitarist with a distinctive sound and energy, Jeff has taken this big leap to become the singer as well. Maybe for that reason it feels like his most personal project. The record (as usual with Jeff's bands) was a lot of fun to make, but as a friend I’m also proud of Jeff for putting himself on the line in this way, and it’s awesome to see the real friendships at the core of this band, as Katie and Ronnie really got behind him to make it possible.”

Lead single “Waves & Dreams” leaves its mark immediately with a wall of sound and intensity. Other tracks on Everything Breaks like “Fade Away” and “Caved In” catch a softer, dreamier side of the band, one that might even draw comparisons to the ‘90s-era surge of shoegaze bands.

Co-released with Little Rocket Records (UK) & Rad Girlfriend Records (US)

**To order in the UK or Europe, go to Little Rocket Records to save on shipping and to support that great label


released July 16, 2021

Jeff Dean - Guitar/Vox
Katie Karpowicz - Bass
Ronnie DiCola - Drums

Co-Produced by J. Robbins and Rodrigo Palma


all rights reserved



Sell The Heart Records Berkeley, California

Est. 2010, Sell The Heart Records has a goal of curating a dynamic catalog of releases from a variety of artists. We believe in keeping it interesting, keeping it fun, and keeping it weird.

contact / help

Contact Sell The Heart Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Everything Breaks, you may also like: